So for Mother’s Day, B’s school prepared a little gift: a little glass pot with soil, and a bag with seeds.

I’m never been very good with plants or flowers and only very recently have I started getting some hang of it (thanks to a red stemmed Alocasia Cucullata that grows and grows and gave me some confidence), so I hesitated for a while but then gave them a try.

In went the seeds (I had no idea at first whay they were), in went a bit of water, then I left it without much expectation.

Then 5 days later, lo and behold - they were sprouting!! I had managed to grow something from seed without killing it!! (not yet at least).

It turns out they’re sunflower seeds, which are one of my favourite flowers, so I repotted them individually and now I’m super excited to watch them develop 😊

If all goes well, I should have them blooming in August. Fingers crossed!

I’ve got such a planting bug now, I bought more plants yesterday and I’m realising that taking care of them is very relaxing.

Your good thoughts are more than welcome for Project Sunflower! 😊🌻🌻🌻

(Hum. I should find a name for each of them.)