I thought I was just going for my usual mother-son weekend drive down Guincho, the coastline of Cascais. No cars behind me, I drove slowly to fully take in the sea and the cloudy sky. Then something unusual caught my eye. A familiar movement in the waters.

“Surely that wasn’t…?” In 37 years, I’d never seen one here.

Another movement. Then another. “It was!!!!” I parked as soon as I could, took B out crying “Darling, come and look!!” like a giddy child and sure enough, moments later, there they were, one after the other, springing from the water and diving back in:

Dolphins 😍

First time ever I’ve seen them in the wild and this close to home. It lasted a few magical minutes and they were gone. But what a thrill to share this with my son.

I managed to make a quick video (hence photo quality), but as I heard a mother say to her son next to me : “ You must record this moment in your memory, you don’t need a phone”.