This time 5 years ago I was receiving messages with “Go Ana!” (joke about Moana from Disney) from my best friend and his wife. I was on the delivery room, after a sleepless night and 48 hours of pain from labour.

The nurse came in, told me dilation had stagnated so they would give me oxytocin. At that point I was in epidural heaven so anything they did was fine by me. I thought it would take a few more hours, so kept on messaging my friends and family.

Hardly half an hour later, my doctor comes in, the nurse says I need to start pushing and change my breathing. That was quick. Maybe this part will take longer. Maybe time passes quickly after waiting 2 days, but all it took was three pushes and there he was.

They put him against my skin, I remember thinking he had the blue eyes I so wished for and then:

The strongest, most intense and overwhelming surge of emotion I’ve ever experienced. All that existed was me and B, skin to skin. Meeting, finally.

I had never cried so hard and with such joy as in that moment.

Happy 5th year in this world, B.