What a dialogue between a brilliant school and a mother of an autistic child who is traumatised by the last school looks like:

Teacher and headmistress: Ana, for the Christmas Show, we’re not sure…

Me: Oh, I understand, you’re not sure it’s a good idea he’s here that day.

Teacher and headmistress: No, you see, we were just…

Me: No, it’s ok, he doesn’t have to participate. The same happened at the other school the last 2 years, I understand.

Teacher and headmistress: No, we really want him to be included! Please let us try our idea. We were just wondering if you agreed to bringing him on stage with one of the teachers, during the last song, when it’s more comfortable for him?

I was so touched I had to hold back tears.

And this afternoon, B, in the way that was possible, participated in the school’s Christmas show. Every teacher and child helped making it a happy experience for him.

I’m telling you, when you see this kind of good humanity, there is no holding back those tears.